Connecting Your Connecticut
Public Transit for CT's Valley-Shore Region

17 Industrial Park Road Suite 6
Centerbrook, CT 06409

2011 CTAA Rural System of the Year

XtraMile – Ride Sharing for the Rest of Us

XtraMile – Ride Sharing for the Rest of Us

XtraMile is a free* ride sharing service that anyone can use to get to and from anywhere in our service area. Our shuttle bus picks you up and takes you to wherever it is that you need to go right when you need it. Download the app and try it out.

Hours & Service Area

6 am – 8 pm, Monday – Friday
7:30 am – 6 pm, Saturdays
No Sunday Service
May 6 – Nov 2, 2019

*This is a pilot program that will end on Nov 2, 2019. If the program is successful, service will continue after that at a low cost to riders.

During the pilot program, Old Saybrook, Essex (the village of Centerbrook & the Essex Steam Train), and Westbrook, Connecticut will be serviced. After the pilot program, additional service areas may be added.

Who Can Ride?

Anyone can ride to anywhere within the service area. Download the app and try it out, or book online at

The shuttle bus will also accept walk-on riders at the train station. If you see the shuttle bus, just walk over and get on — be sure to tell the driver where you need to go.

Our shuttle buses are equipped with wheelchair lifts and drivers are trained at helping people with disabilities.

People without smartphones may call our dispatch center to get a ride: 860-510-0429.

How to Get Started

1 – Install the “Microtransit” app on your smartphone

2 – Follow the instructions for setting up an account

3 – Click where you want to go and confirm your trip details

The app will send you a notification when the shuttle bus is on its way to you.

4 – Get on board. Be Driven.

Need help? Watch this How-to video:

Don’t have a smartphone?

You can still get a ride. Just call us: 860-510-0429

Want to Help Spread the Word?

Click here for our XtraMile toolkit. Find our logo, links to the app, video, and more along with a sample email.

Copyright © 2015 Estuary Transit District.