Connecting Your Connecticut
Public Transit for CT's Valley-Shore Region

91 N Main St
Middletown, CT 06457

2011 CTAA Rural System of the Year

About us

About us

The Estuary Transit District was formed in 1981 by the nine towns of the Connecticut River Estuary Region to provide local, coordinated public transportation for residents of the area. The District operates under the name 9 Town Transit.

The District is a political subdivision of the state of Connecticut created under the authority of chapter 103 (a) of the general statutes, and is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the member towns. The Board appoints an Executive Director to manage the day-to-day operations of the district. It is funded by fare revenue, the Federal Transit Administration, the Connecticut Department of Transportation, and the nine member towns.


9 Town Transit operates seventeen buses on four flexible routes (fixed stops with deviations) throughout the region, including connections to New Haven, New London & Middletown. Demand response service, known as Dial-A-Ride, is also available in all nine towns Monday through Friday. In addition, ETD provides Dial-A-Ride and fixed route service in Haddam and Dial-A-Ride service in Durham and East Haddam under contract with the towns. All services are open to the general public with no age restrictions.

Over the past seven years, the District has seen tremendous growth in both services provided and usage. 9 Town Transit now travels approximately 550,000 miles annually, operates on a $1.8 million budget, and provides over 100,000 passenger trips annually.

Copyright © 2022 Estuary Transit District.